

June 22, 2023

The Honorable Tim Grayson 1021 O Street, Suite 5510 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: AB-281 Planning and zoning: housing: postentitlement phase permits. – SUPPORT

Dear Assemblymember Grayson,

MidPen Housing Corporation is proud to support is proud to support AB 281 (Grayson), which applies timelines to postentitlement building permits issued by special districts.

MidPen Housing is one of the nation's leading nonprofit developers, owners, and managers of high-quality, affordable housing and onsite resident services. Since MidPen was founded in 1970, we have developed over 125 communities and 8,500 homes for low-income families, seniors and those with supportive housing needs throughout Northern California.

Under AB 2234 (Rivas and Grayson, 2022), cities and counties are required to determine whether an application for a post-entitlement building permit is complete within 15 days of the agency receiving the application. Post-entitlement building permits must then be approved by local agencies within 30 or 60 days depending on the size of the development.

AB 2234 did not apply these same provisions to special districts, potentially allowing delays to housing projects that drive up costs and prevent construction. AB 281 will apply the same 30/60 day timeline found in AB 2234 to special districts, ensuring that all agencies will be held to the same standard and reducing further delays to critically needed housing.

For these reasons, MidPen Housing Corporation is pleased to support AB 281 as it moves through the legislative process.

Sincerely,

Matthew O. Franklin President and CEO

MidPen Housing Corporation

Mmut 6 F



Building Communities. Changing Lives.

CC

Nevada V. Merriman, Director of Policy, MidPen Housing

Senator Mike McGuire

Senator Bill Dodd

Senator Susan Eggman

Senator Steve Glazer

Senator Nancy Skinner

Senator Aisha Wahab

Senator Josh Becker

Senator Dave Cortese

Senator John Laird

Senator Alex Padilla

Senator Diane Feinstein

Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry

Assemblymember Lori Wilson

Assemblymember Damon Connolly

Assemblymember Phil Ting

Assemblymember Matt Haney

Assemblymember Mia Bonta

Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan

Assemblymember Liz Ortega

Assemblymember Diane Papan

Assemblymember Marc Berman

Assemblymember Alex Lee

Assemblymember Evan Low

Assemblymember Ash Kalra

Assemblymember Gail Pellerin

Assemblymember Robert Rivas

Assemblymember Dawn Addis